A new taste to my blog – testing foodie places from Dunbar to Main streets

Stephen Hui, the Georgia Straight web editor is coming to our journalism class at Langara College tomorrow. I discovered he is not only a reporter about a wide range of things such as technology and aboriginal issues. Hui also has a separate blog about eating vegan in Vancouver.

Enjoying a Chinese-Canadian meal with the family in Simon's kitchen on Dunbar & 28th Ave.

Enjoying a Chinese-Canadian meal with the family in Simon’s Kitchen on Dunbar & 28th Ave.

Some of my journalism colleagues are equally intrigued about food, agriculture, coffee places. Judy Chern just launched a new blog about locally grown exotic food and Tanya Hill’s blog New Agrarian City informs about sustainable urban farming, technology and food ideas.

That inspired me to reflect how often I read about local restaurants and deli stores, of which residential southwest Vancouver has plenty. You guessed it, apart from occasional PR-style articles in our local business improvement association’s newsletters, not that often.

Do you remember that nice little Persian bakery at W 41st Ave. and West Boulevard in Kerrisdale? We miss its colourful cookies.

Do you remember that nice little Persian bakery at W 41st Ave. and West Boulevard in Kerrisdale? We miss its colourful cookies.

As a new sidekick to my beat blog, I’d like to share my experiences as a food shopper, cook and restaurant patron with you. As I am an enthusiastic omnivore, I am looking forward to reading your tips and experiences.

Bon Appetit!

2 thoughts on “A new taste to my blog – testing foodie places from Dunbar to Main streets

  1. I’d like to read about brunching in your ‘hood – seems I’ve heard of more than a few recommended locals 🙂

    • Thanks Alex,
      I’m not much of a bruncher anymore. With kids, eating out has to be practical and fast. But I did have an interesting new foodie experience in Marpole yesterday, which I am happy to share with you shortly!
      Katja

Leave a Reply

